

ECU Vice-Chancellor and Workplace Gender Equality Agency Director speak on the Australian Gender Equality Scorecard and WA's gender pay disparity.

The importance of organisational sustainability was never more relevant than at the latest Women in Leadership event, run by CEDA in Perth on 30 November 2016. Entitled 'Australia's gender equality scorecard' and marking the release of the third annual report, Director of the Workplace Gender Equality Agency, Ms Libby Lyons provided a key note address on findings. WA now has a gender pay gap (full-time work for WA-based employers) of 30.9% and the state continues to lead on gender pay disparity nationwide.

"The greatest reason inequality between men and women that exists in the workplace is due to unconscious bias and discrimination" Ms Lyons told the Perth CEDA audience.

Each year the Workplace Gender Equality Act 2012 legislates that organisations must report on gender-related metrics. ECU participates each year and was successful in its application for citation as an Employer of Choice for Gender Equality (announced on 8 December 2016). ECU was required to meet a large number of criteria relating to areas of leadership, learning and development, remuneration and flexible working.

ECU's Vice-Chancellor, Professor Steve Chapman joined Ms Lyons on addressing the multi sector audience. As a recent addition to the WGEA's Pay Equity Ambassadorship, Professor Chapman highlighted critical initiatives including the Science in Australia Gender Equity (SAGE) Pilot of the Athena SWAN Charter in Australia and the importance of mandatory unconscious bias training. Referring to the 'leaky pipeline', Professor Chapman stressed the decline of female staff in the academic career trajectory, particularly after the post doctorate level.



Picture: "The problem behind gender equality..." - Professor Chapman (centre) discusses key issues in gender disparity at the recent CEDA event – 'Australia's Gender Equality Scorecard', 30 November 2016.



Picture: Several ECU Athena SWAN Charter Committee and Self-Assessment team members attended the event. (L-R: Dr Matt Byrne, Dr Gordon Lucas, Ms Lyn Farrell, Dr Carolyn McIntyre, Dr Lyndall Adams, Dr Mike Johnstone, Mr Ken Yin and Professor Margaret Jones).