Top of page
Global Site Navigation

About ECU

Local Section Navigation

Help us improve our content by rating this page.

Page rating system

Please tell us why your content rating for this page is low.
If you'd rather not, just click Submit.

You are here:
ECU is currently converting this web content to a more mobile friendly format. If you find the content below is not formatting correctly during this transition please view on desktop browser.
Main Content

Congratulations to ECU award winners

Thursday, 09 July 2009


ECU staff awarded prestigious ALTC citations

I am delighted to advise that four staff and one team from ECU have been honoured by the Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC) with citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning.

I congratulate the following staff on being recipients of these prestigious national awards.

Mr Dan Archibald and the ECU Library Team
For a sustained contribution to the improvement of learning through collaborative library services, and leadership in the design and effective use of innovative learning spaces.

Dr Paul Chang, School of Psychology and Social Sciences
For leadership in sustaining the development and implementation of strategies that continue to improve student experiences and outcomes.

Dr Kayt Davies, School of Communications and Arts
For developing 3rd Degree, an award-winning publication that is an authentic and assessable way to teach contemporary newsroom competencies and to showcase student work.

Miss Diane Slade, School of Communications and Arts
For pioneering BOOMERANG@ECU, a 'Big Idea' conceived on international communication principles, providing outstanding opportunities for industry relevant learning.

Dr Sandra Wooltorton, Faculty of Regional Professional Studies
For making consistent progress over 10 years in the refining of a teaching/learning approach conducive to transformative learning for sustainability.

Our colleagues are great exemplars of ECU's commitment to student learning, and innovation in seeking alternative ways to engage and educate our students. They are also great exemplars for all of us of 'personal excellence'.

Professor Colleen Hayward inducted into Aboriginal Education Hall of Fame
I am proud to advise that Head of ECU's Kurongkurl Katitjin, Centre for Indigenous Australian Education and Research, Professor Colleen Hayward, has been inducted into the Hall of Fame at the Aboriginal Education Awards of Achievement presentation held this week by the Western Australian Department of Education and Training.

Professor Hayward joined ECU this year and has been an outstanding addition to our team. Being inducted into the Hall of Fame caps off an outstanding 18 months for Professor Hayward, in which she attended the Australia 2020 Summit, was named a finalist in the national Deadly Awards, won the national NAIDOC Aboriginal Person of the Year Award, appeared in the Who's Who of Australian Women and was named as one of WA's 50 most powerful women.

Congratulations to Professor Hayward on this well-deserved new honour.

Professor Kerry O. Cox *

* Professor Kerry Cox was Vice-Chancellor of Edith Cowan University from March 2006 to September 2014.

Skip to top of page