Top of page
Global Site Navigation

About ECU

Local Section Navigation

Help us improve our content by rating this page.

Page rating system

Please tell us why your content rating for this page is low.
If you'd rather not, just click Submit.

You are here:
ECU is currently converting this web content to a more mobile friendly format. If you find the content below is not formatting correctly during this transition please view on desktop browser.
Main Content

ECU staff awarded for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning

Friday, 26 February 2010


Congratulations to six staff who are the recipients of the 2010 Vice-Chancellor’s citation for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning.

Over the last year or two, surveys of ECU students have shown that teaching quality at ECU is competitive with the best universities in Australia.

To achieve this high recognition by our students requires wide-spread excellence and dedication by our staff performing their teaching duties.

It follows then that the recognition of our six colleagues who have been selected for special distinction from a large number of fellow staff is an honour of the highest order.

My congratulations to our six recipients and also to all of our staff who have contributed to the increasing recognition of teaching excellence at ECU.

The winners are:

  • Professor Alfred Allan - SPSS
    For teaching that influences, motivates and inspires postgraduate psychology students to integrate, and competently apply, legal-ethical principles in their professional practice.

  • Dr Llandis Barratt-Pugh - SOM
    For the sustained development and implementation of a research-based learning strategy for postgraduate student learning, that results in positive impacts on workplace practices.

  • Associate Professor Barry Gibson - SEBHS
    For the demonstration of sustained personal excellence in learning and teaching across a career and outstanding success in the leadership of learning and teaching as a Head of School.

  • Dr Lorraine Hammond - SOE
    For the development and implementation of an evidenced-based learning approach which has produced outstanding results in pre and in-service teacher education.

  • Mr Micheál McCarthy - WAAPA
    For the long-term development and implementation of an innovative approach to music education that inspires students and successfully develops their attitudes, skills, knowledge and outcomes.

  • Associate Professor Andrew Smith - WAAPA
    For the design and implementation of an innovative cross-disciplinary approach leading to the development of outstanding graduates who have impact in the professions of screen and theatre acting.

Professor Kerry O. Cox *

* Professor Kerry Cox was Vice-Chancellor of Edith Cowan University from March 2006 to September 2014.

Skip to top of page