Top of page
Global Site Navigation

About ECU

Local Section Navigation

Help us improve our content by rating this page.

Page rating system

Please tell us why your content rating for this page is low.
If you'd rather not, just click Submit.

You are here:
ECU is currently converting this web content to a more mobile friendly format. If you find the content below is not formatting correctly during this transition please view on desktop browser.
Main Content

2011 Academic Promotions

Thursday, 22 September 2011


A unifying characteristic of many good universities throughout the world is their willingness to encourage academic staff who believe they are performing their work at a level higher than that of their substantiative position to make the case for promotion. Such a case should be based on evidence over a substantial period (generally some years).

Happily, here at ECU rather than wait for a vacancy before promoting high achieving academic staff, every year we invite applications for promotion to be presented in the ECU agreed policy context. By promoting staff we recognise and reward the achievements and contributions of our outstanding colleagues, encouraging them to reach their potential.

On behalf of the University, I congratulate the following colleagues on their successful application for promotion during 2011.

From Lecturer (Level A) to Lecturer (Level B)

  • Craig Harms (FCHS)
  • Nikki Rajakaruna (FBL)
  • Dean Roepen (FBL)
  • Patryk Szewczyk (FCHS)

From Lecturer (Level B) to Senior Lecturer (Level C)

  • Iftekhar Ahmad (FCHS)
  • Kylie Cormack (FCHS)
  • Brenda Hamlett (FEA)
  • David Hodgson (FRPS)
  • Junko Iwasaki (FEA)
  • Donna Mazza (FRPS)
  • Nick Medic (FCHS)
  • Stuart Medley (FEA)
  • Gilly Smith (FCHS)

From Senior Lecturer (Level C) to Associate Professor (Level D)

  • Llandis Barratt-Pugh (FBL)
  • Pamela Henry (FBL)
  • Graeme Lock (FEA)
  • Mark McMahon (FEA)
  • Julie Ann Pooley (FCHS)
  • Robert Powell (FBL)
  • Graham Wood (FEA)

I encourage all colleagues to strive for personal excellence, and to encourage our students to do likewise. All of us can continue to learn and enjoy the benefits of so doing.

Writing about excellence, it was my great delight last Saturday night to sit next to Richard Bostwick when he was announced as the recipient of the Education category at the 2011 Western Australian Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards. Congratulations Richard.

Professor Kerry O. Cox *

* Professor Kerry Cox was Vice-Chancellor of Edith Cowan University from March 2006 to September 2014.

Skip to top of page