Top of page
Global Site Navigation

About ECU

Local Section Navigation

Help us improve our content by rating this page.

Page rating system

Please tell us why your content rating for this page is low.
If you'd rather not, just click Submit.

You are here:
ECU is currently converting this web content to a more mobile friendly format. If you find the content below is not formatting correctly during this transition please view on desktop browser.
Main Content

Queen’s Birthday 2012 Honours List recipients

Monday, 11 June 2012


It is my great pleasure to congratulate Professor Colleen Hayward AM, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Equity and Indigenous) and Head of Kurongkurl Katitjin, ECU’s Centre for Indigenous Australian Education and Research, who was honoured today in the Queen’s Birthday 2012 Honours List.

Professor Hayward was awarded a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia for service to tertiary education through administrative and research roles, to the advancement of the rights of Indigenous people, particularly in the areas of social welfare, law and justice and children’s health.

An ongoing advocate for the rights of Indigenous Australians, Professor Hayward has been a significant contributor to the development of policies and programs on a wide range of Indigenous issues for the past 30 years.

This latest accolade adds to Professor Hayward’s long list of impressive achievements, including winning the Premier of WA’s Multicultural Ambassador’s Award (2006) and being named the National NAIDOC Aboriginal Person of the Year (2008).  Earlier this year Professor Hayward also joined the University’s namesake, the late Edith Dircksey Cowan in being inducted into the WA Women’s Hall of Fame.

Other members of our University community have also been honoured. The Honourable Wayne Martin AC, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of WA, Adjunct Professor of the Faculty of Computing, Health and Science, Professor Brett Biddington AM, have also been recognised and awarded for their extraordinary efforts

Chief Justice Martin has been Chair of the Consultative Committee for the Law Program in ECU’s School of Law and Justice since shortly after his appointment as Chief Justice in 2006. He has been awarded the Companion in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AC) - the highest award under the nation's honours system.

Professor Biddington has been awarded Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for his service to the space sector through national policy and industry development.

On behalf of the whole ECU community, I congratulate Professor Hayward AM, the Hon Chief Justice Martin AC, Professor Biddington AM on these outstanding achievements.

Professor Kerry O. Cox *

* Professor Kerry Cox was Vice-Chancellor of Edith Cowan University from March 2006 to September 2014.

Skip to top of page