Top of page
Global Site Navigation

Future Students - Information for Year 10s

Local Section Navigation

Help us improve our content by rating this page.

Page rating system

Please tell us why your content rating for this page is low.
If you'd rather not, just click Submit.

You are here:
ECU is currently converting this web content to a more mobile friendly format. If you find the content below is not formatting correctly during this transition please view on desktop browser.
Main Content

Our courses information

Our courses offer the right balance of practical knowledge and academic excellence and a wide range of study options.

To receive your course information, please enter your email address below
Email address Email
Thank you! The course information has been emailed to you.
  • Courses
  • Location
  • Study Mode
  • Delivery Mode
  • Duration
  • Mid-year intake
  • Indicative ATAR (TER)
  • Indicative Fees (1st Year):
  • CRICOS (International students)
  • Related Careers
  • Admission Requirements
  • Special Admission Requirements
Email me these courses Email me my favourites
Thank you! The course information has been emailed to you. Close

Indicative tuition fees provided are estimates based on information available to Edith Cowan University at the time of their calculation and are presented as a guide for comparative purposes only. The fees which are ultimately applicable are subject to change. ECU makes no representations or warranties in relation to the reliability of these estimates or the methodologies used for their calculations.

I acknowledge that I understand that these tuition fees are indicative only and are subject to change.

First year indicative tuition fees for 2014 undergraduate courses (domestic students)

Commonwealth supported: AUD $7,970.00
Domestic fee paying: AUD $19,750.00

There are two types of domestic tuition fees as displayed above. Read the following information to identify which indicative tuition fee amount may be applicable to you.

Commonwealth Supported Place

Under this arrangement, the Australian Government contributes towards your tuition fees and you are responsible for the remaining tuition fees, called your 'student contribution'.

You are eligible to be Commonwealth Supported if you are studying:

  • a Bachelor's degree;
  • an Associate Diploma;
  • an Honours degree; or
  • selected Commonwealth Government Supported postgraduate courses.

You must also satisfy ONE of the following criteria:

  • You are an Australian Citizen.
  • You hold a Permanent Humanitarian visa.
  • You are a New Zealand Citizen and you are living in Australia whilst studying.
  • You hold an Australian Permanent Residency visa and you are living in Australia whilst studying.

Please note that eligibility for a Commonwealth Supported rate of fees does not determine your eligibility for a Higher Education Loan Program (HELP) loan. For further details and to obtain a more comprehensive indication of tuition fees, please use the Fees Calculator.

Domestic Tuition Fee

Domestic tuition fees (unsubsidised full fee amount) will be applicable to you if you are not eligible for a Commonwealth Supported Place.

Domestic tuition fees also apply to non-award courses (courses or programs that do not lead to a higher education award, but are studied for general interest, professional purposes, or to gain entry to a degree program through an alternative pathway). More about non-award courses.

We recommend you visit our Fees Calculator for a more comprehensive view of the cost of courses and units.

Course Main Navigation


Bachelor of Engineering Bachelor of Science

This course structure contains information about the units which comprise the course as well as the credit points required to successfully complete it.

The Bachelor of Engineering Bachelor of Science double degree consists of 46 units (including one 0 credit point Practicum unit) and requires a total of 675 credit points to be completed. This includes units to a total value of 450 credit points in the Bachelor of Engineering program, consisting of 16 core engineering units and a 15 unit engineering major. The Bachelor of Science component of the double degree consists of a 225 credit point (15 unit) major in one of the approved science areas listed below.

Year One - Semester 1
UnitDescription Points
MAT1236Calculus 1 15
ENM1102Engineering Drawing and Computer Aided Design 15
Science Major 1 (15 credit points)
Science Major 2 (15 credit points)

Year One - Semester 2
UnitDescription Points
ENS1162Electrical Engineering 1A 15
MAT1163Linear Algebra 15
Science Major 3 (15 credit points)
Science Major 4 (15 credit points)

Year Two - Semester 1
UnitDescription Points
ENS1154Introduction to Engineering 15
MAT2437Differential Equations 15
CSP2151Programming Fundamentals 15
Science Major 5 (15 credit points)
Science Major 6 (15 credit points)

Year Two - Semester 2
UnitDescription Points
ENS1101Engineering Mechanics*15
ENS1115Materials and Manufacturing 1 15
ENS1253Electrical Engineering 1B 15
Science Major 7 (15 credit points)
Science Major 8 (15 credit points)

* Students who have not passed WACE Physics 3A/3B (or equivalent) must complete the bridging unit SCP1132 Introduction to Physics before they can enrol in ENS1101 Engineering Mechanics.

Year Three - Semester 1
UnitDescription Points
ENS2159Engineering Innovation and Ethics 15
Engineering Major 1 (15 credit points)
Engineering Major 2 (15 credit points)
Science Major 9 (15 credit points)
Science Major 10 (15 credit points) **

** Students completing the Instrumentation Control & Automation Engineering major should enrol in Engineering Major 3 in place of Science Major 10 in this semester, and enrol in an extra Science Major unit in Year 5 Semester 1.

Year Three - Semester 2
UnitDescription Points
Engineering Major 3 (15 credit points)
Engineering Major 4 (15 credit points)
Engineering Major 5 (15 credit points)
Science Major 11 (15 credit points)
Science Major 12 (15 credit points)

Year Four - Semester 1
UnitDescription Points
Engineering Major 6 (15 credit points)
Engineering Major 7 (15 credit points)
Engineering Major 8 (15 credit points) ^
Science Major 13 (15 credit points) ^^
Science Major 14 (15 credit points)

^ Students completing the Mechanical, Mechatronics, or Computer Systems Engineering majors should enrol in Engineering Major 8 in Year 4 Semester 2 instead of in this semester. ^^ Students completing either the Instrumentation Control & Automation major or the Electrical Power major should enrol in ENS4251 Control Systems instead of Science Major 13 in this semester, and enrol in a Science Major unit in place of ENS4251 in Year 5 Semester 1.

Year Four - Semester 2
UnitDescription Points
Engineering Major 9 (15 credit points)
Engineering Major 10 (15 credit points)
Engineering Major 11 (15 credit points)
Science Major 15 (15 credit points)

Year Five - Semester 1
UnitDescription Points
ENS4111Engineering Practicum 0
ENS4152Project Development 15
ENS4251Control Systems#15
Engineering Major 12 (15 credit points)
Engineering Major 13 (15 credit points)

# Students completing the Civil Engineering major should enrol in ENS3106 Hydrology and Hydraulics instead of ENS4251 Control Systems.

Year Five - Semester 2
UnitDescription Points
ENS4253Engineering Project 15
ENS4543Engineering Management 15
Engineering Major 14 (15 credit points)
Engineering Major 15 (15 credit points)

#### SAT-RCO-RYP: 325635, Course Structure ####
#### SAT-RCO-GET-VARS ['location':'schoolleavers','studymode':''] ####
#### SAT-RCO-GET-VARS ['sector':'', 'campus':''] ####
#### SAT-RCO-GET-VARS ['action':'structure'] ####
Skip to top of page