Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Golden Key International Honour Society inducts new members to the ECU Chapter

Wednesday, 21 October 2009


The ECU chapter of the Golden Key International Honour Society celebrated the induction of 566 new members at a presentation ceremony held on Tuesday evening.

The ceremony was hosted by Chancellor, the Honourable Dr Hendy Cowan and Vice-Chancellor Professor Kerry Cox at the Joondalup Campus.

US Consul General, Dr Ken Chern gave the occasional address, highlighting the importance of intercultural understanding, teamwork and humility as a leader.

Associate Professor Susan Ash and Dr Donna Cross were inducted as Honorary Members for their contributions to the University community.

Rosemarie Vella was awarded the Golden Key Scholarship for her volunteer contributions in the Mundaring community and Michellan Beer was received the Advisor’s Award which recognises the exemplary contributions of an Executive Committee member.

Jodie Atkinson received the City of Joondalup Award for Community Service which is presented to a Golden Key member living, studying or working in the City of Joondalup that is deemed the most outstanding contributor to the community.

The ECU chapter was founded in 1998 and celebrates academic achievement. Undergraduate students who perform in the top 15 per cent are eligible to join Golden Key after completing at least one year of study.

Members are entitled to a range of benefits and privileges including scholarships, career assistance, and international networking opportunities.

The Golden Key National Honour Society was founded at Georgia State University in Atlanta, USA in 1977 by a group of highly motivated undergraduate students. It is a non-profit, academic honours organisation that has positioned itself as a positive force in higher education.


Skip to top of page