Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

ECU congratulates exceptional students

Friday, 24 September 2010


ECU announced the winners of the second annual Vice-Chancellor's Student Awards this week, which recognise students who demonstrate outstanding contribution in the areas of Engagement and Contribution to University Life.

Ms Jade Scott, from the School of Psychology and Social Science, was the winner of the Engagement category, for her contribution to both external communities and the University.

Mr Jonathon Grove, from the School of Engineering was the winner of the award for Contribution to University Life, for his work within the school of engineering, particularly the motorsports team.

Other students recognised include PhD student from the School of Communication and Arts, Ms Eunice Sari; Broadcasting student from WAAPA, Ms Ann Jones; PhD student from the School of Computing, Health and Science, Mr Darren Webb; and the Solid Kids, Solid Schools team, from ECU’s Child Health Promotion Research Centre, Ms Juli Coffin and Ms Dionne Paki, who all received special commendations in the Engagement category.

Special commendations for Contribution to University Life include Bachelor of Music Student, from WAAPA, Mr Nicholas Maclaine; Advanced Diploma of Music (Contemporary) student from WAAPA, Ms Samantha Ruggiero; and the Education Representative society, a group of first to fourth year education students who support each other through mentoring and fundraising.

The winners in each category were nominated by staff and fellow students, and will receive $5,000 in prize money and a certificate of recognition, presented by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Kerry Cox at the Vice-Chancellor's Top 100 held at the end of October.

Professor Cox congratulates all students on their awards.

“The field of applicants was very impressive and their receipt of these awards reflects a demonstrated contribution that is consistent with the University's values of integrity, respect, rational inquiry and personal excellence.”

For more information on the awards, and other scholarship opportunities, visit the Scholarships webpage.


Skip to top of page