Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

ECU students awarded prestigious national scholarships

Thursday, 25 November 2010


Congratulations to Bachelor of Arts (Education) / Bachelor of Social Sciences (Home Economics) students Ms Nicole Banks; Ms Ellen Morrow; Ms Telana Vernon and Ms Yvonne Wreckmann who were announced as winners of the prestigious King and Amy O’Malley Trust Awards Undergraduate Scholarships, which supports students who excel in home economics tertiary studies.

The scholarships are open to all students enrolled in tertiary home economics studies across Australia and are worth over $5,000, which goes towards the winning recipients studies.

Scholarships are awarded based on four main criteria; the applicant’s academic performance; their professional goals in home economics; their personal and leadership attributes and their personal contribution to the home economics profession.

Home Economics Coordinator, Mrs Lyn Dymond, congratulated the students on their achievements.

“This year’s applications were particularly competitive, with four scholarships awarded to WA students instead of the allocated three."

“To receive this recognition in such a competitive field is a wonderful testament to the hard work all four students have put in throughout the year and I wish them all the best in their future studies,” said Mrs Dymond.

The students will officially be presented with the scholarships early next year.

For more information on the scholarships visit the King and Amy O’Malley Trust website.


Skip to top of page