Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Seven Network teams with ECU for groundbreaking internship

Monday, 30 May 2011


Two lucky ECU graduates will be chosen for paid internships with the Seven Network as the result of a groundbreaking new partnership between the two organisations.

Seven’s Head of Production, Brad Lyons, says the Network will offer two internships to ECU students who successfully complete the Graduate Diploma of Broadcasting, offered by the School of Communications and Arts in conjunction with the WA Academy of Performing Arts (WAAPA).

The internships will be with the production department at the Seven Network’s headquarters in Sydney. The two lucky graduates will each also receive a $2,000 cash prize.

“We are excited to be able to offer these Seven Production internships to ECU/WAAPA Broadcasting graduates.” Mr Lyons said.

“This is a wonderful opportunity for a young person, and a great way for the Seven Network to discover new talent for the television Industry.”

The internship program is the direct result of talks between Mr Lyons and School of Communications and Arts Senior Broadcasting Lecturer, Ms Jo McManus.

“The whole broadcasting team is thrilled with the announcement,” Ms McManus said. “For our graduates to be given an opportunity to start their careers with the Seven Network is an absolute dream come true.’

Channel 7 Perth General Manager, Mr Ray Wardrop is delighted at the latest partnership, which is the result of a long and prosperous relationship between the two institutions.

For many years Channel 7 Perth has sponsored awards for ECU/WAPPA Broadcasting students and each year airs “Rough Cut”, a TV program produced by the students.

“We are thrilled to be involved with ECU as we work to nurture and develop the state’s best young talent, and look forward to working together in the future as we build on the long-standing relationship between our two organisations.”

The first interns for the program will be selected at the end of 2011.


Skip to top of page