Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Celebrating staff and students, and anniversaries

Thursday, 06 October 2011


ECU celebrated the exceptional achievements of staff and students this week at the Edith Cowan Anniversary Celebration Awards for 2011, held at the Joondalup Campus.

ECU was named after a prominent Australian leader of the 20th century, Edith Dircksey Cowan.  This year marks the 150th year since Edith’s birth, the 90th year since her election to Parliament (as the very first woman in Australia to be elected) and the 20th year since the establishment of the University named in her honour.  

In reflecting on the achievements of Edith Cowan, it was decided that a celebration of these anniversaries would be combined with announcing Awards for 2011 to very high achieving staff and students.

Divided into staff and student awards, the celebration recognised 45 recipients, including four group recipients, in catagories ranging from “engagement” to “contribution to University life”.

Vice-Chancellor, Professor Kerry Cox, personally congratulated each recipient on their win.

“It is my great pleasure to celebrate the achievements of our staff and students at this special awards ceremony,” Professor Cox said.

“Edith Dircksey Cowan was an exceptional woman, who exemplified the University values of integrity, respect, rational enquiry and personal excellence.”

“I thank our staff and student winners for embodying these values in their roles as teachers and students, and congratulate them on their achievements.”

Full list of winners

Vice-Chancellor’s Staff Awards

Engagement – Dr Ruth Sibson; Associate Professor Margaret Hall and Associate Professor Mel Ziman

Service – Fiona Peters; Tania Behr; Suzanne de Silva; Steven Johnson; The Fees and Scholarship Team, Student Services Centre and Jacinth Watson

Research (Excellence in Research) – Professor Ralph Martins and The Child Health Promotion Research Centre

Research (Excellence in Research Supervision) – Professor Donna Cross and Professor Malcolm Smith

Teaching and Learning Awards (Excellence in Teaching) – James Thomson; David Smith; Dr Junko Iwasaki; Dr Lorraine Hammond; Tara Smith; Dr Panizza Allmark

Teaching and Learning Awards (Programs that Enhance Learning) – Dr Cat Hope

Teaching and Learning Awards (Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning) – Professor Mark Stoney; Dr Joyce Hendricks; Associate Professor Julie Ann Pooley and Richard Bostwick and Dr Michael Monisse-Redman

Vice-Chancellor’s Student Awards

Engagement – Darren Webb with special commendations to the ECU Students for Free Enterprise (SIFE) Team and Florian Breitenbach

Contribution to University Life – Ed Rep Society Team

View photos from the event.


Skip to top of page