Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

WA Screen Academy triumphs at ATOM Awards

Thursday, 27 October 2011


ECU’s WA Screen Academy received top honours last week at a gala ceremony to celebrate the 2011 Australian Teachers of Media (ATOM) award winners.

Held at the Melbourne Recital Hall, the awards saw the WA Screen Academy film ‘Stripped’ win the award for Best Tertiary Short Fiction. This is the second year that the Academy has taken out the top honours. 

The film was a collaboration between the WA Screen Academy and the Aboriginal Theatre program, with direction from graduate Geoff Kelso and starring famed indigenous actor Kelton Pell, who also co-directed.

Two other ECU films were also finalists in the competition. ‘Family Tree’ was nominated in the best Short Fiction category and ‘Australian Stars’ was nominated in the Best Tertiary Documentary category.

“These awards and nominations are significant not just for our program but for a number of others in the School of Communications and Arts, such as Broadcasting, Journalism, Photomedia and Public Relations,” said WA Screen Academy Director, Mr John Rapsey.

“These awards go a long way to demonstrate that ECU is a national leader in Communications and Creative Industries.”

Mr Rapsey also received top honours, winning the 2011 ATOM Teacher of the Year.  To accept the award, Mr Rapsey was accompanied to the podium by Melbourne-based graduates Magda Wozniak and Sophie Mathewson.  

In his acceptance, Mr Rapsey said the award belongs to the staff and professional mentors who continually support the Screen Academy students.

“Excellence comes from the fact that every creative decision, from the concept to the finished film, is interrogated, clarified and refined.”

“In the end it is the talent and persistence of the students that determines the quality of the work. So this award belongs to them.”

ATOM is the national organisation of teachers at the primary, secondary and tertiary level. For more information on the awards, visit the ATOM website.


Skip to top of page