Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Today's media students, tomorrow's media stars

Friday, 18 November 2011


Eight talented broadcasting students have received a valuable kick-start to their media careers, receiving cash prizes and internships within newsrooms around Australia.

The Graduate Diploma of Broadcast students were today recognised for their achievements in the 12-month course, which provides them with the presentation and technical skills necessary to become electronic media professionals.

Joanna Crothers was awarded the prestigious ABC News 24 Paul Lockyer Memorial Prize, which will see her travel to Sydney for a three-month paid internship with ABC News 24.

"The Broadcasting course at ECU had a steep learning curve," Joanna said.

"We were dropped right into it and within a few weeks we were live on air and I think ABC News 24 will be another step up again. But I’m really looking forward to it."

The award was created and named after ABC journalist Paul Lockyer, who along with camera operator John Bean and helicopter pilot Gary Ticehurst, died in a helicopter crash near Lake Eyre earlier this year.

Broadcasting course coordinator Jo McManus said the opportunity to work alongside experienced journalists in newsrooms was priceless.

“Previous recipients of these awards have gone onto successful careers with Fox Sports, Channel 10, Channel 7, Nova and Triple M," Ms McManus said.

The winners are:

The ABC News 24 Paul Lockyer Memorial Prize

  • A three month paid internship with ABC News 24, Sydney.
  • Winner: Joanna Crothers.

The Seven Productions Award
  • Two three month paid internships in the production department of the Seven Network, Sydney, plus a $2,000 cash prize for each winner.
  • Winners: Hannah Buck and Ella Ogden.

The Channel Seven Award for most potential in television.
  • $1,500 cash prize (three recipients: $750 for winner, $500 for 1st runner up and $250 for 2nd runner up)
  • Winner: Irena Ceranic
  • Highly commended: Scott Ward and Jerrie Demasi.

The Commercial Radio Australia Award for most potential in commercial radio.
  • A cash prize of $2,000 sponsored by Commercial Radio Australia, the national governing body of the commercial radio in Australia.
  • Winner: This year the judges couldn't separate two students so awarded $1,000 each to Chad Neylon and David Lennon.

The 6PR George Grjlusich Sports Broadcasting Award
  • $1,000 cash prize and a six months paid internship in the sports department of Radio 6PR, Perth.
  • This is the Broadcasting course’s longest running internship and former winners have all gone onto successful careers in media, working in radio in Sydney (TripleM) and Perth (6PR) and in television as sports reporters for Fox Sport, Sydney; Channel 10, Perth; and Channel 7 Perth.
  • Winner: Ben Roberts.

The WAtoday Award for video journalism
  • A $1,000 cash prize plus one month's paid work with
  • Winner: Geoff Smith.


Skip to top of page