Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

ANZMAC an international success

Wednesday, 07 December 2011


More than 500 marketing experts from 122 universities across 26 countries met in Perth recently to share ideas and forge relationships within the marketing academic community.

The Australian and New Zealand Marketing Academy Conference (ANZMAC) was hosted by ECU and opened by its Chancellor, the Hon. Dr Hendy Cowan.

The conference attracted internationally renowned keynote speakers, including Professor Rob Donovan from Curtin University and Professor Russell Belk from York University in Canada.

Professor Donovan opened the event with his presentation, Marketing: Capitalist Tool. Social marketing: Social capitalist Tool, which called for more awareness and action in social marketing.

Professor Belk, in his presentation The Digital Consumer: Enchantment in the Marketplace, provided insight into societal changes due to emerging technologies.

Internationally renowned marketing academics such as Professor Jordan Louviere, Professor Rod Brodie and Professor Geoff Soutar also attended the Doctoral Colloquium at ECU’s Mount Lawley Campus. The 55 students, from 30 universities across 11 countries, reported that the encouragement and advice they received was invaluable.  

The Marketing Science Institute used the ANZMAC conference as a platform to celebrate 50 years of the Journal of Marketing and the 25th anniversary of the Qualitative Research Odyssey.

Professor Belk presented a retrospective look at qualitative research, using video footage taken from the beginning of the odyssey through to present day.

The Qualitative Research Odyssey revolutionised the way many academics carry out their research today. For many of those attending the conference it was a chance to hear about a research method that impacts their careers heavily, from the pioneering academics who took part in the odyssey.

The conference wrapped up with a formal dinner where researchers in attendance were recognised for their contributions to the profession.


Skip to top of page