Top of page
Join the ECU Social circle

Help us improve our website content by rating this page.

Page rating system

Please tell us why your content rating for this page is low.
If you'd rather not, just click Submit.

Main Content

Adjunct Professor named Road Safety Council chair

Tuesday, 23 October 2012

  • ECU Adjunct Professor Murray Lampard has been named chair of the Road Safety Council

    ECU Adjunct Professor Murray Lampard has been named chair of the Road Safety Council

Road Safety Minister Liza Harvey has announced the appointment of Professor Murray Lampard as the new chair of the Road Safety Council.

Professor Lampard was formerly the deputy commissioner of WA Police. Since his retirement he has held the position of Adjunct Professor of Law and Justice and Security Science at ECU.

The Minister said Professor Lampard, who retired from WA Police in July 2008, had extensive experience in the road safety area.

“Professor Lampard brings a wealth of policing experience with him to this role. His blend of operational experience and understanding of academia and research is ideally suited to respond to significant road safety challenges,” she said.

“I look forward to working with Professor Lampard and utilising his expertise to help improve road safety in Western Australia.”

Professor Lampard is looking forward to taking on the new role.

“Reducing the amount of fatalities and serious injuries in WA are a top priority for myself and the Road Safety Council,” Professor Lampard said.  

“My time at Edith Cowan has provided me with the analytical skills that can properly assess the most appropriate intervention to the many challenges of Road Safety.

Professor Lampard will take over from outgoing chair D’Arcy Holman, who held the position since 2009 and whose term expires at the end of this month. The three-year appointment will begin at the end of October.

He will also continue his role as Adjunct Professor at ECU.  

For further information visit the Government of Western Australia website.


Skip to top of page