Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

ECU film-makers receive 20 nominations in the WA Screen Awards

Tuesday, 03 March 2009


Edith Cowan University filmmaking students and graduates from The WA Screen Academy, the Film and Video program and WAAPA are celebrating after receiving 20 nominations in the WA Screen Awards.

The WA Screen Awards is the premier event for emerging filmmakers in WA, and will be held at the Octagon Theatre on Saturday, 21 March.

Six films produced by Screen Academy students in 2008 have been nominated in what organisers are describing as the most outstanding round of entries to date.

Ace Neally was nominated for Best Tertiary Film, and The People’s Plot earned a Best Cinematography nomination for Screen Academy students Sarah Clarke and Mikael Bones Olsen.

Screen Academy student Palko Juhas is nominated for Best Sound for his work in the film Commodity Fetish.

Acting students from the WA Academy of Performing Arts (WAAPA) were also well represented with TJ Power nominated for Best Actor in Iris and Best Actress nominations for Elise Jansen’s role in Misconception and Alexandra Fisher in Spirited.

The Director’s Cut, a low budget horror comedy featureby Screen Academy graduate Paul Komadina received six nominations including Best Film and Best Director.

Screen Academy graduate Damien Spiccia received three nominations for his film The Deep End which was funded through the ScreenWest - Film and Television Institute Link initiative.

Fellow graduate Robbie Studsor was nominated in the Screenwriting category for The Making of A Dead Guy, a hilarious and stinging satire which he made as his Honours project.

John Rapsey, Director of the WA Screen Academy and Head of Scriptwriting at ECU, is delighted by both the number and breadth of the nominations.

“ECU filmmakers have received nominations in nearly every category, reflecting the high standards that are being set in ECU Screen programs,” he said.

“Nominations were earned by our students at every level – undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate.

“I congratulate all of the nominees and wish them good luck at the Awards.”

The WA Screen Academy at ECU offers intensive programs in screen studies offering students hands-on experience producing, writing, directing and editing short films, lifestyle and drama programs and documentary films.

The full list of nominations featuring ECU films, students and graduates:

The Director’s Cut

Best Director - Paul Komadina (Screen Academy graduate)

Original Music Composition - Christopher de Groot (WAAPA Music)

Cinematography - Ivan Davidov (Screen Academy graduate)

Sound - Michelle Tate (WAAPA Sound)


Best Drama

The Deep End

Screenwriting - Damien Spiccia (Screen Academy graduate) and Robbie Studsor (Postgraduate student)

Production Design

Visual Effects

The Making of a Dead Guy

Screenwriting - Robbie Studsor (Postgraduate student)


Ace Neally

Tertiary Film

The People’s Plot

Cinematography - Sarah Clarke and Mikael Bones Olsen (Screen Academy)

Thinking When Speaking

Cinematography - Daniel McColl (Film and Video)


Actor - TJ Power (WAAPA Acting)


Actress - Elise Jansen (WAAPA Acting)

Actress - Alexandra Fisher (WAAPA Acting)

Commodity Fetish

Sound - Palko Juhas (Screen Academy)

A Marvellous Gift
Short Animation - Daniel McColl (Film and Video)

God Spelt Backwards ‘See For’

Music Video - Baz Harvey (Film and Video)

- ends -

Media contact:

Corporate Communications
(08) 6304 2131
0402 016 344
Follow ECU News on Twitter


Skip to top of page