Top of page
Global Site Navigation

Edith Cowan Institute for Education Research

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content


The Institute pursues its mission through collaboration with researchers in affiliated research centres and with industry partners.

Affiliated Research Centres

The Institute is affiliated with four research centres within the Faculty of Education and Arts.

Fogarty Learning Centre

The Centre initiates and supports research in the areas of language and literacy, numeracy, science education, mathematics education, early childhood studies, school effectiveness, behaviour management, children with learning difficulties, curriculum development and teacher professional learning. Collaboration with the Fogarty Learning Centre has enabled agendas associated with literacy, numeracy and science education to be pursued.

Centre for Schooling and Learning Technologies

This Centre investigates teaching and learning in schools, with a particular focus on how information technology can transform teaching and learning in the contemporary school environment.

Kurongkurl Katitjin – Centre for Indigenous Australian Education and Research

Kurongkurl Katitjin's mission is to provide excellence in teaching, learning and research in a culturally inclusive environment that values the diversity of Indigenous Australian history and cultural heritage. Collaboration with researchers from Kurongkurl Katitjin has enabled research to be conducted into enhancing Aboriginal students' engagement with learning.

Centre for Research in Entertainment, Arts, Technology, Education and Communications

CREATEC aims to raise our research profile within the media, communications, technology and creative industries to local community, government and industry groups through collaborative research. Similarly, collaborations with researchers from CREATEC have enhanced research in the areas related to the effective use of learning technologies.

Industry partners

The Institute's research programs are conducted collaboratively with partners in the education sectors so that research findings can be applied and have immediate relevance to teachers, schools and the sectors. Institute researchers are deeply engaged with the profession and conduct research that has significant social and educational impacts.

Our educational researchers currently hold a number of research grants provided by these external partners.

Industry partners at the state level

  • Department of Education;
  • Curriculum Council of Western Australia;
  • Association of Independent Schools of Western Australia;
  • Catholic Education Office;
  • Library Board of Western Australia;
  • Health Department of Western Australia; and
  • WA Primary Principals Association.

Industry partners at the national level

  • Australian Government through the Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations (formerly DEST); and
  • Australian Primary Principals Association.
Skip to top of page