Top of page
Global Site Navigation

School of Nursing and Midwifery

Local Section Navigation

Help us improve our content by rating this page.

Page rating system

Please leave a comment about your rating so we can better understand how we might improve the page.

You are here: Main Content

Lifetime achievement honour

Thursday, 11 May 2017


On Saturday 6 May Professor Di Twigg, Dean of the School of Nursing and Midwifery was recognised for her many contributions to the nursing profession with a prestigious Lifetime Achievement Honour at the 2017 Western Australian Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards. Professor Twigg received her award in the presence of our Vice-Chancellor Professor Steve Chapman and the Premier of Western Australia Mark McGowan.

Professor Twigg began her nursing career in 1974, and served as the Executive Dean of Nursing Services at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital for 13 years where she led the hospital to achieve Magnet status, an international award that recognises nursing excellence.  Di has also developed many key position papers which were influential in shaping nursing practice, and led the adoption of a professional Decision-Making Framework in Western Australia.

Di joined ECU as the Executive Dean of the School of Nursing & Midwifery in 2010, leading one of the largest Schools in Australia.  Di brings her extensive experience in Health Service leadership to the research arena in the fields of hospital staffing, nursing workforce and cost effective care.  She has published over 40 peer reviewed papers and attracted $1.65million in research funding. Under Di's leadership, the School has twice achieved the highest possible ranking in the Excellence in Research for Australia rounds with research assessed as well above world standard.


Skip to top of page