

# ECU Honorary Award Recipients 1991 – March 2025

Doctors of Arts
Doctors of Business
Doctors of Commerce
Doctors of Education
Doctor of Engineering
Doctor of Health Science
Doctors of Laws
Doctors of Letters

Doctor of Medical Science
Doctor of Medicine
Doctors of Music
Doctors of Nursing
Doctors of Performing Arts
Doctors of Philosophy
Doctors of Science
Doctors of the University

Fellows of the University
Fellows of the WAAPA

**Emeritus Professors** 

#### **Doctors of Arts**

Mrs Janet Holmes à Court, AC	2011
Mr Ben Elton	2016
Mr Donald McAlpine	2016
Ms Lynette Narkle	2018
Ms Leigh Peta Sales AM	2023
Ms Helen Shervington OAM	2022
Dr Graeme Simsion	2018
Ms Roma "Yibiyung" Winmar	2020

#### **Doctors of Business**

Mr Charles Bennett Bass	2019
Mr Davide Cooke	2022
Mr Garry Hunt	2022
Ms Denise McComish	2016
Mr Nigel Satterley AM	2016
Dr Ruth Shean	2021

#### **Doctors of Commerce**

Mr Hendy Cowan	2003
Mr Richard James Barr Goyder AO	2023
Miss Diana Newman, AM (1937 – 2010)*	1999
Mr Kerry Stokes, AO	2000
Mr Sam Walsh, AO	2010
Ms Heather Zampatti	2021

<sup>\*</sup> Deceased

\_

Destant of Education	
Doctors of Education	2022
Mr Ian Anderson Professor Leonard (Len) Michael Collard	2022 2023
Dr Anne (Annie) Fogarty	2023
Emeritus Professor Patrick Garnett	2014
Mr Ronald (Ron) Gorman	2024
Professor Mark Hackling	2014
Dr Nathan (Norm) Hoffman, OAM	2009
Mr Rod Jones	2007
Dr Peter Larsen	2008
Professor Carmen Lawrence	2016
Mr Colin Clifford Pettit	2019
Doctor of Engineering	
Mr Edgar Basto	2021
Mr John Patrick Hurney OAM	2020
Ms Sue Murphy AO	2021
Mr David Singleton	2018
Doctor of Health Science	
Ms Robin Lynette Bromley OAM	2022
Ms Margaret Cole (1940 – 2023)*	2020
Dr Malcolm Washer MBBS	2014
Doctors of Laws	
Justice Robert French, AC	1998
Ms Kate George	2019
Chief Justice Wayne Martin AC, QC	2013
Hon Justice Carmel Joy McLure AC, QC	2019
Justice Robert Nicholson, AO	2008
Doctors of Letters	
Mr Phillip Adams, AO	2003
Ms Lucette Aldous (1938 – 2021)*	2000
Sir Charles Walter Court, OBE (1911 – 2007)*	1999
Mr Merce Cunningham (1919 – 2009)*	2001
Ms Anne Deveson, AO (1930 – 2016)*	2003
Dr Haruhisa Handa	1998

*	Deceased

Mr Justin Back

2017

2022

**Doctor of Medical Science** Ms Patricia Anderson, AO

<sup>\*</sup> Deceased

<sup>\*</sup> Deceased

<sup>\*</sup> Deceased

#### **Doctor of Medicine**

Dr James McNulty, AO (1926 – 2017)*
-------------------------------------

#### **Doctors of Music**

Mr Don Burrows, AO MBE (1928 – 2020)*	2001
Mr Slim Dusty, AO MBE(1927 – 2003)*	2002
Mr Richard Gill, OAM (1941 – 2018)*	1995
Mr David Helfgott	2004
Dr Graham Johnson OBE	2017

Mr James Morrison AM 2014 (in absentia)

## **Doctors of Nursing**

Ms Karen Bradley	2018
Dr Rosemary Bryant AO	2018
Ms Sue Davis	2021
Professor Address Mauakowa Malata	2019
Ms Janine Mohamed	2020

## **Doctors of Performing Arts**

Ms Tania Carol Chambers OAM 20	
Mr Kevan Johnston OAM 20	)18
Ms Rachael Maza 20	)19
Mr Tim Minchin 20	)19
Ms Jill Perryman AM MBE 20	)18
Mr Jack Thompson AM 20	)15

## **Doctors of Philosophy**

Mr Peter Cowan, AM (1914 – 2002)*	1995
Mrs Shirley de la Hunty, AO MBE (1925–2004)*	2001

#### **Doctors of Science**

Professor Lynda (Lyn) Beazley, AO	2017
Mr William Henry Butler, CBE (1930 - 2015)*	2003
Ms Zaheda (Zoe) Ghani	2023
Mr David Irvine AO (1947 – 2022)*	2015
Professor Fiona Stanley, AC	2010
Mr Adam Spencer	2018

\* Deceased

<sup>\*</sup> Deceased

<sup>\*</sup> Deceased

<sup>\*</sup> Deceased

<sup>\*</sup> Deceased

<sup>\*</sup> Deceased

<sup>\*</sup> Deceased

Deceased

# **Doctors of the University**

Mr Steve Abbott	2011
Dr Christopher (Chris) John Back	2022
Mr Mark Bin Bakar	2009
The Hon Julie Bishop	2020
Ms Elizabeth Broderick AO	2017
Emeritus Professor Steve Chapman CBE	2024
Emeritus Professor Kerry O. Cox AO	2014
Ms Tanya Dupagne	2019
Ms Kelly Hick	2021
Ms Rishelle Nicole Hume AM	2019
Mr Graeme Innes AM	2018
Mr Roshana (Rosh) Jalagge	2023
Mr Timothy (Tim) Jarvis AM	2024
Mr Justin Langer, AM	2016
Emeritus Professor Roy Lourens, AM	1999
Mr Malcolm McCusker, AO QC	2009
Dr Chitoshi Miki	2022
Ms June Oscar, AO	2017
Mr Warren Snell	2012
Mr Marcus Stafford AM	2020
Mr Stewart Symonds (1937 – 2020)*	2017
Ms Robyn Smith-Walley	2020
His Royal Highness Crown	
Prince Maha Vajiralongkorn of Thailand	1999
Mr Ray Wardrop	2017
Ms Alisa Camplin-Warner OAM	2019
Professor Anthony (Tony) Watson (1946 – 2025)*	2013
Mr Ronald Warren Woss AM	2019

\* Deceased

## **Fellows of the University**

Mr Robert Broadway	2007
Mrs Carol Devitt	2008
Mr Alan Dodge, AM	2007
Rev Frank Drysdale, OAM (1932 – 2011)*	2001
Mr Ken Eastwood	2004
Mr Peter Eastwood, AM	2004
Mr Dominic Figliomeni	2007
Professor Glenn E. Gardner	2019
Mr Denis Hayward	2000
Mr Michael Henderson	2004
Dr Nathan (Norm) Hoffman, OAM	2002
Mr Simon Holthouse	2017
Mrs Shirley de la Hunty, AO MBE (1925–2004)*	1991
Mr John Liddelow (1922 – 2011)*	1986,1991
Dr Ernest Manea, AO (1926 – 2013)*	1999
Mr Graham Maybury, OAM	2000
Dr David Mossenson, AO ISO (1917 - 2008)*	1991
Professor Michael Millward	2017
Ms May O'Brien, BEM (C) (1932 – 2020)*	1991
Mr Albert C.K. Teo	2013
Mr Ken Wyatt, AM	2004
Mr William Young	1991

# Fellows of the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts

Mr Jack Davis, AM BEM <i>(1917 – 2000)</i> *	1997
Ms Margaret Ford, OAM	1995
Mr William Gillespie, OAM	2011
Mr Hugh Jackman	2007
Mr Michael Lewi, AM	1999
Ms Lisa McCune	2013
Mr William McInnes	2010
Mr Henry Frederick William Miles (1941-2021) *	2007
Mr Barry Moreland	1997
Ms Terry Owen (1933 – 2015)*	1998
Dr Robert Vickery, AM	1998

\* Deceased

<sup>\*</sup> Deceased

<sup>\*</sup> Deceased

<sup>\*</sup> Deceased

<sup>\*</sup> Deceased

<sup>\*</sup> Deceased \* Deceased

<sup>\*</sup> Deceased

## **Emeritus Professors**

Emeritus Professor Alfred Allan	2022
Emeritus Professor Max Angus	2008
Emeritus Professor Alan Bittles	2017
Emeritus Professor Alan Black	2004
Emeritus Professor Geoffrey Bolton (1931 – 2015)*	1996
Emeritus Professor Margaret (Peggy) Brock AM (1948 – 2023)*	2011
Emeritus Professor Stephen (Steve) Kenneth Chapman CBE	2024
Emeritus Professor Kerry O. Cox AO	2014
Emeritus Professor Ross K Dowling AM	2021
Emeritus Professor Christine Duffield	2021
Emeritus Professor John Finlay-Jones	2019
Emeritus Professor Patrick Garnett	2008
Emeritus Professor Mark Hackling	2014
Emeritus Professor Colleen Patricia Hayward AM	2019
Emeritus Professor Peter (Pierre) Horwitz	2023
Emeritus Professor Paul Lavery	2024
Emeritus Professor Roy Lourens, AM	1997
Emeritus Professor Joseph (Joe) Luca	2021
Emeritus Professor Ian Malcolm	2004
Emeritus Professor Ronald Gerard Oliver	2018
Emeritus Professor Millicent Poole	2005
Emeritus Professor Harry Recher, OAM	2002
Emeritus Professor John Renner	1996
Emeritus Professor Judith Rivalland	2008
Emeritus Professor William David Stock	2019
Emeritus Professor Mark Stoney	2016
Emeritus Professor Andrew Taylor	2004
Emeritus Professor Di Twigg AM	2021
Emeritus Professor Anthony (Tony) Watson (1946 – 2025)*	2013