Top of page
Global Site Navigation

Kurongkurl Katitjin

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Nyoongar Season Snapshot: Birak

Friday, 02 December 2016


In the South West of Australia, there are six seasons in the Nyoongar year, rather than the four European seasons.

The six distinct seasons: Birak, Bunuru, Djeran, Makuru, Djilba and Kambarang, serve to better represent and explain the seasonal differences that we witness each year. They can be shorter or longer and are indicated by changes in the flora and fauna around us, rather than by dates on a calendar.

Birak is represented by the colour red as it symbolises heat, sun and fire.

Check out the reference for Birak and see if you recognise any of the signs happening around you.

For more information, contact ECU Cultural Awareness Officer Jason Barrow


Skip to top of page