Top of page
Global Site Navigation

Kurongkurl Katitjin

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

2017 Aspire Award winners announced

Tuesday, 06 June 2017


The Perth Convention Bureau (PCB) Aspire Program concluded for the year with the 2017 Aspire Awards Ceremony, held on the morning of Thursday 1 June at the Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre. With over sixty applications and only ten awards available, including the inaugural Australian Institute of Management WA Conference Award, there was incredibly strong competition among all applicants wanting to secure the opportunity to receive professional development funding to attend and attract conferences to Western Australia.

ECU's Professional Development Awards consists of a $5,000 grant to assist a University staff member in their personal and professional development through attendance at a relevant international conference in their chosen field of endeavour.

In 2017, there were two winners - Tracey Lee Edwards from Kurongkurl Katitjin and Karen McDavitt, School of Arts & Humanities – South West Campus.

Tracey will use the funds from her award to assist with travel costs to attend and present at the World Indigenous Peoples Conference on Education (WIPCE) in July 2017, Toronto, Canada. WIPCE provides a platform for all Indigenous peoples to collectively share combined educational and cultural knowledge. Hosting WIPCE 2020 in Perth would be of great prestige to ECU, WA and the broader Australian community.

PCB CEO, Paul Beeson commented “the program has been responsible for contributing more than 100 million dollars to the WA economy as well as playing a key role in securing conferences that have and will continue to contribute to advancing the State’s broad expertise and knowledge in a wide range of industries”.

The Awards were presented by Master of Ceremonies, Karen Tighe, and winning applicants and finalists joined a number of prestigious guests including The Hon. Paul Papalia CSC MLA, Minister for Tourism and the City of Perth Councillor Janet Davidson OAM to celebrate the winners’ achievements. The event was supported by Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre, AV Partners, West Australian Newspapers and The Scene Team.

The 2017 Awards opened September 2016 and closed 31 March 2017.

This program is now in its 18th year and the Perth Convention Bureau welcomes interested applicants for 2018 to contact Tracey Cinavas-Prosser, Director Stakeholder Relations or visit Perth Convention Bureau. Applications for 2018 will open September 2017.


Skip to top of page