Top of page
Global Site Navigation

Kurongkurl Katitjin

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Nyoongar Season Snapshot: Kambarang

Thursday, 05 October 2017


In the South West of Australia, there are six seasons in the Nyoongar year, rather than the four European seasons.

The six distinct seasons: Birak, Bunuru, Djeran, Makuru, Djilba and Kambarang, serve to better represent and explain the seasonal differences that we witness each year. They can be shorter or longer and are indicated by changes in the flora and fauna around us, rather than by dates on a calendar.

Kambarang is represented by the colour yellow as it symbolises the return of the hot weather.

Check out the reference for Kambarang and see if you recognise any of the signs happening around you.

For more information, contact ECU Cultural Awareness Officer Jason Barrow


Skip to top of page