Top of page
Global Site Navigation

Australian Comics Symposium

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content


Held on ECU`s centrally located Mount Lawley Campus, the Australian Comics Symposium will take place on Friday, 29 June, 2018.

Please see below for a detailed list of the program of events.

8.30am Registration Room 17.169
9.00am Introduction:
Welcome to Country
Room 17.103
9.20am Keynote:
Dr Elizabeth MacFarlane
10.10am Session 1, Australian Comics as Hall of Mirrors:
Leonie Brialey, Anthony Castle, Emmet O’Cuana
Chair: Bruce Mutard
11.20am Morning Tea Room 17.169
11.40am Session 2, Emotional Resonances:
Debra Dudek, Paul Uhlmann, Emilie Walsh
Chair: Elizabeth MacFarlane
Room 17.103
1.10pm Lunch
Artists’ talk: Karen Ann Donnachie and Andy Simionato
Opening: Comics West Exhibition
Spectrum Project Space
2.10pm Session 3, Comics in Other Places
Camilla Andersen, Tim Danko, Pat Grant, Christopher Markle
Chair: Paul Uhlmann
Room 17.103
3.40pm Artist’s Talk:
Michael Fikaris
4.15pm Afternoon Tea Room 17.169
4.35pm Session 4, The Fall and Rise of Comics:
Daniel Best, Robert Cook, Karen Dwarte
Chair: Stuart Medley
Room 17.103
5.25pm Conclusions and Respondents:
Stuart Medley, Bruce Mutard
6.00pm Opening:
Inner Atmospheres Exhibition
Gallery 25
8.00pm Conference Dinner
Skip to top of page