Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Broadcasting careers begin

Friday, 16 November 2012


Three graduating students from ECU's Graduate Diploma of Broadcasting are off to Sydney next year to kick of their broadcasting careers.

Jessica Jackson, Brett Lenhoff and Sarah Naughton have all won awards that include 3 months paid work in the television industry.

Jessica and Brett are the 2012 winners of the Seven Productions Award. The prize is $2,000 cash and a three-month paid internship in the production department at the Seven Network’s headquarters in Sydney.

Sarah has been honoured with the ABCNews 24 Paul Lockyer Memorial Prize. She will also receive $2,000 and jet off to Sydney early next year to begin a paid internship with ABCNews 24.

The Seven Productions Award and ABCNews 24 Paul Lockyer Memorial Prize were established last year.

One of the inaugural winners of the Seven Network Prize, Hannah Buck, is now the senior researcher for Johanna Griggs on Seven’s popular lifestyle show, Better Homes and Gardens. The other, Ella Ogden, is studying for an MBA in the hope of setting up her own production company.

Joanna Crothers, the first winner of the ABCNews 24 prize, is still working in the organisation as a news producer.

“These awards are like gold,” said course coordinator, Jo McManus. “We are so grateful that the broadcast industry supports our course and our students.

“Channel 7 has supported us for years, Radio 6PR is amazing and now we have ABCNews24 on board, along with It’s fantastic!”

ECU Broadcasting’s internship program was established in 2007 with the Radio 6PR George Grlijusich Award for Sports Broadcasting. That prize is $1,000 cash plus 6-months paid work in the sports department of 6PR during the football season. This year’s winner is Joshua Duane.

Other industry-sponsored prizes for ECU Graduate Diploma of Broadcasting students are:

  • The WAtoday Award for Video Journalism: $1,000 and a one-month paid internship. 2012 winner: Stephanie Lee.
  • The Commercial Radio Australia Award for best potential in commercial radio: $2,000 cash. 2012 winner Dani Orlando
  • The Channel 7 Award for best potential in commercial television. $1,500: 2012 winner: David Berrie – $750. Runners up Stephanie Lee – $500 and Monique Dirksz – $250

For more information on the Graduate Diploma of Broadcasting contact 134 ECU or visit the


Skip to top of page