Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

ECU’s teaching graduates dominate education awards

Monday, 26 November 2018


ECU teaching graduates have swept four categories at this year’s WA Education Awards, which recognise the best primary and secondary teachers and schools around the State.

Graduates won the Primary and Secondary Principal of the Year, Beginning Teacher of the Year and Primary Teacher of the Year awards.

School of Education Executive Dean Professor Lynne Cohen said the awards are further recognition of ECU’s ongoing role in producing excellent teachers.

“ECU has been training and supporting dedicated, passionate educators for more than 100 years,” she said.

“We firmly believe in supporting and nurturing new teachers to help them become the very best educators they can be.”

The ECU graduate award winners are:

WA Beginning Teacher of the Year, sponsored by Edith Cowan University

Benjamin Garnaut, Warwick Senior High School

A scar on the side of his head as a result of a golf accident in his youth is a permanent reminder to Warwick Senior High School teacher Ben Garnaut of just how fortunate he is to live a healthy life each day. A strong believer that every lesson is a journey of discovery, Ben learnt a lot during his previous career as a geologist at an oil and gas mine, specifically that he wanted a job with meaning. Joining Warwick Senior High School as a graduate teacher in 2015 after studying at Edith Cowan University, Ben has played a major role in curriculum development and continues to challenge himself and his colleagues. He has introduced an electronics option course to increase student interest in science which is now one of the school’s more popular option courses.

WA Premier’s Primary Teacher of the Year, sponsored by BHP

Anthony Horn, West Beechboro Primary School

Inspired by a teacher in his own youth, Anthony has himself become inspirational, highly respected and admired by students, parents and colleagues alike. Focusing on the social as well as the academic skills of students – his professional mantra is ‘my kids are much more than marks on a page’ – Anthony supports them well beyond the classroom, motivating each to reach their potential.

WA Primary Principal of the Year, sponsored by Fotoworks

Rebecca Bope, Kalgoorlie Primary School

A natural leader, Rebecca mentors principals in the Goldfields and embraces change for the benefit of students. She ensures programs at her school are consistent and promote effective teaching practices, and believes every student is capable of successful learning. At the helm of Kalgoorlie Primary School for the past five years, Rebecca had a life-changing experience when she was teaching English in Japan. Being a minority there influenced how she interacts with students who speak English as a second language and continues to influence her approach to students.

WA Secondary Principal of the Year, sponsored by Teachers Mutual Bank

Damian Shuttleworth, Carine Senior High School

Damian spent six years in leadership roles in retail before deciding to embark on a career change, and applied for university as a mature-aged student. With a belief that education changes lives, Damian has led Carine to many successes including last year’s WA Education Award where the school was named WA Secondary School of the Year. Described by his peers as a courageous and empowering leader, he supports his staff to offer the most effective and exciting programs to students. A school survey this year found more than 95 per cent of parents, students and staff felt Damian made clear his standards of high expectations for students while more than 90 per cent agreed there had been significant school improvement in the past two years.

If you’re interested in becoming a teacher, visit our Teacher Education web page.

Here you’ll find information about this and related courses, including videos and galleries about our facilities, our students and our lecturers.


Skip to top of page