Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Top agricultural science award for researcher

Thursday, 30 July 2020


An Edith Cowan University (ECU) researcher has been honoured with a prestigious agricultural science award for her work ensuring cereals are safe for people with coeliac disease.

Professor Michelle Colgrave was awarded the 2020 ICM Agrifood Award by the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE) for significant contributions to the agricultural sector.

Her research at ECU focuses on analysing proteins, including gluten, and finding better ways to test for the presence of gluten in food labelled as gluten free.

Professor Colgrave also works at CSIRO where she was involved in the development of the world’s first gluten-free barley, which is used in the production of gluten-free cereals and beer.

Professor Colgrave said she was deeply honoured to receive the 2020 ICM Agrifood Award.

“I’ve been fortunate to work with a team of brilliant scientists and conduct research to deliver safe food and new sustainable agricultural products,” Professor Colgrave said.

“The most rewarding aspect of my work is seeing our team’s research delivered from the lab to the market.

“This award is great recognition of our efforts and it’s inspirational – it’s time to solve the next challenge!”

Professor Colgrave shared the award with Dr Greg Falzon from the Flinders University.

The Academy’s President Hugh Bradlow said that it was a pleasure to recognise the role of agriculture through the ICM Agrifood Awards.

“The ICM Agrifood Awards acknowledge the outstanding work of two individuals in the early and middle phase of their careers who are achieving substantial peer or industry recognition of their work in improving the overall Australian food sector,” Professor Bradlow said.

“I congratulate Professor Colgrave on her work, which will bring significant improvements to the quality of life for people with coeliac disease.”

For further information on the ICM Agrifood Awards and to view the 2020 ATSE Innovation and Excellence Awards visit the ATSE webpage.


Skip to top of page