Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Education Minister to deliver Vice-Chancellor’s Distinguished Oration

Wednesday, 02 November 2011


The Minister for Education, The Hon. Dr Elizabeth Constable MLA, is the Vice-Chancellor’s Distinguished Orator for 2011.

Dr Constable will address the Edith Cowan University (ECU) community and wider public on Wednesday, 16 November at ECU’s Joondalup Campus.

Speaking on the topic ‘Edith Cowan: A Woman for Our Time’, her address coincides with the University’s anniversary celebrations. This year ECU celebrates the 150th anniversary of the birth of Edith Cowan, the 90th anniversary since her election to Parliament and the 20th anniversary since ECU was established.

Dr Constable was the first woman to be elected into State Parliament as an Independent in 1991. As Education Minister, Dr Constable has worked to provide high-quality education to all young West Australians, particularly in regional and remote areas. 

The Minister has also presided over the implementation of the Independent Public Schools initiative, giving principals the autonomy to meet the needs of their individual school communities.

ECU Vice-Chancellor Professor Kerry Cox said there were many similarities between the work of Edith Cowan and Dr Constable in promoting education in WA.

“Edith Cowan worked tirelessly to develop education in this state. She was aware that access to learning could create a hugely positive benefit to not only the individual, but to the wider community,” Professor Cox said.

“One hundred years later, those sentiments are just as relevant today. It is people like Dr Constable that continue to work hard to ensure quality education is accessible and equitable for Western Australians.”

The Vice-Chancellor’s Distinguished Orator event is held annually at the Joondalup Campus. Previous events have featured prominent Australian and international speakers, including the University of Pretoria Vice-Chancellor Professor Cheryl de la Rey (2010), Hon. Chief Justice Dr Robert French AC (2009), the Hon. Dr Frederick (Fred) Chaney AO (2008), Dr Sam Walsh AO (2007) and Professor Caroline Taylor (2006).

Members of the public are invited to RSVP via the Events page.

When: Wednesday, 16 November 2011
From 5.30pm

Where: Building 32
Edith Cowan University Mount Joondalup Campus
270 Joondalup Dve, Joondalup

- ends -

Media contact:

Corporate Communications
(08) 6304 2131
0402 016 344
Follow ECU News on Twitter


Skip to top of page