Top of page
Global Site Navigation

School of Arts and Humanities

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Students research opportunities

Honours

The purpose of an Honours program is to provide a substantial intellectual challenge to students, while consolidating and building upon research skills in a specific discipline.

Entry to the Honours program is based on outstanding performance in the undergraduate degree together with the potential to undertake an independent project and research work. To be eligible for the Honours program, a student must normally have achieved a course average of 70 percent in the undergraduate degree.

Successful performance in an Honours program is usually taken to indicate capacity for a student to undertake a Higher Degree by Research; a Research Masters Degree or a PhD. Higher Degrees by Research are exempt from HECS charges and exceptional students can apply for scholarships to support their studies.

An Honours Degree normally includes some coursework units together with a thesis, creative work plus exegesis/critical essay, or dissertation. The Honours program is a one year full-time course, or up to two years part-time. Please consult with the Honours Coordinator concerning part-time study.

School of Arts and Humanities Honours Coordinators

Arts

Lecturer
Ms Tania Visosevic
Telephone: (61 8) 9370 6048
Email: t.visosevic@ecu.edu.au

Criminology

Senior Lecturer
Dr Natalie Gately
Telephone: (61 8) 6304 5930
Email: n.gately@ecu.edu.au

Psychology

Associate Professor
Associate Professor Justine Dandy
Telephone: (61 8) 6304 5105
Email: j.dandy@ecu.edu.au

Senior Lecturer
Dr Deirdre Drake
Telephone: (61 8) 6304 5020
Email: d.drake@ecu.edu.au

Social Work (South West Campus)

Lecturer
Dr Colleen Carlon
Telephone: (61 8) 9780 7658
Email: c.m.carlon@ecu.edu.au

Social Science

Senior Lecturer
Dr Elizabeth Reid-Boyd
Telephone: (61 8) 6304 542
Email: e.boyd@ecu.edu.au

Social Work

Lecturer
Ms Rebecca Burns
Telephone: (61 8) 9780 7727
Email: r.burns@ecu.edu.au

Skip to top of page