Top of page
Global Site Navigation

School of Business and Law

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Dircksey Student Advisory Group

The Dircksey Student Advisory Group (DSAG) celebrates the diverse voices of our students. The Group brings together a cross-section of students from the School of Business and Law (School, SBL) who strive to make a difference by participating in continuous improvement activities.

The Group will embody ECU’s core values and represent their peers, who do not already have a say in wider university groups, when providing recommendations and feedback to the School on all aspects of the student experience including curriculum, learning and teaching, communications, wellbeing, career development, support services and extra-curricular activities.


The DSAG meets twice a year and is tasked to:

  • provide a communication channel between the student body and the School Executive to promote successes and drive continuous improvement;
  • provide a forum to monitor, discuss and review School-related activities;
  • provide feedback and recommendations to the Executive Dean on the planning, development and delivery of courses and programs;
  • assist in the development of School activities such as events, programs and communications that support engagement on a local and global scale; and
  • represent the School at internal and external events.

Benefit to students

In addition to contributing to the progress and direction of the School, student members of the DSAG will be provided with:

  • networking opportunities with the School Advisory Board;
  • exclusive invitations to events run by the School/University;
  • valuable board experience for their future career; and
  • a letter of acknowledgement signed by the Executive Dean for their contribution to the Group on completion of their term of membership.

At the commencement of each academic year, the presidents of each of the school student groups will be invited to become members of DSAG. At the same time, a call will be sent out to all current SBL students to fill the remaining ten student positions. These students will need to complete the DSAG self-nomination form, which includes an endorsement by a current SBL academic staff member.

A shortlist of 20 students (maximum) will be compiled, with a focus on diversity and inclusivity. The Group will include undergraduate, postgraduate, HDR, international, domestic, LGBTQI+, equity and diversity students, as well as a student from the SW Campus. In future, the DSAG will invite student representation from ECU Sri Lanka.

Each shortlisted student will be interviewed by a panel chaired by the DSAG Executive Officer. The interview panel will select the final 10 students for membership. The panel will be looking to select students who demonstrate passion, commitment and the ability to contribute meaningfully to the School.
Students may stay in the DSAG for a maximum of two years. If they do not wish to continue after one year they may elect to leave the Group. Each year, open positions will be advertised and filled following the procedure described above.

The DSAG will comprise 15 students and four SBL staff as outlined below. The sitting presidents of the five SBL student groups will be invited to participate, while the ten remaining students will be drawn from the broader student body through a self-nomination process.

  1. SBL Executive Dean (Chair)
  2. SBL Associate Dean Teaching and Learning (Deputy Chair)
  3. SBL School Manager
  4. ECU Women in Business President
  5. ENACTUS President
  6. Finance and Accounting Society President
  7. Human Resources Management Club President
  8. ECU Law Society President
  9. Student member, SW Campus (1)
  10. Student member (2)
  11. Student member (3)
  12. Student member (4)
  13. Student member (5)
  14. Student member (6)
  15. Student member (7)
  16. Student member (8)
  17. Student member (9)
  18. Student member (10)
  19. DSAG Executive Officer (SBL)
  20. Associate Dean (Research) - OBSERVER
  21. Industry Relationships Manager - OBSERVER

Key Dates

Nominations open: Monday 15 February 2021

Nominations close: 5pm (AWST) Friday 19 March 2021,

Final members announced: Friday 2 April 2021

First meeting: To be announced



Skip to top of page