Top of page
Global Site Navigation

School of Education

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Professional Teaching Council of Western Australia Outstanding Service Awards (PTCWA) 2019

Monday, 28 October 2019


On Friday, 25 October Australia celebrates World Teachers’ Day, an annual event since 1994 that commemorates the joint signing of the 1966 UNESCO/ ILO (International Labour Organisation) Recommendation Concerning the Status of Teachers. This week in Western Australia, the Professional Teaching Council of Western Australia Outstanding Service Awards (PTCWA) were announced. The PTCWA is the peak body representing voluntary professional education associations within Western Australia. As an umbrella body representing individual associations, PTCWA represents over 9,000 teachers across all sectors and all learning areas.

The PTCWA Outstanding Service Awards recognise an individual member’s outstanding professional contribution to education in Western Australia, made in a voluntary capacity to his or her professional teachers’ association. On Wednesday 23 October faculty members from the School of Education were invited to join the celebrations and would sincerely like to congratulate and thank all the 2019 winners for their outstanding dedication to education in Western Australia.

The list of PTCWA Outstanding Service Award 2019 winners is shown below:

Ms Katherine Gaschk AAEE - Australian Association for Environmental Education
Ms Genevie Baker ACE WA - Australian College of Educators WA
Ms Emily Jansen ALEA - Australian Literacy Educators Association
Dr Laura D'Olimpio APIS - Association for Philosphy in Schools
Ms Michelle Horrocks Art Ed WA - Art Education Association of Western Australia
Ms Selena Clohessy ASME - Australian Society for Music Education WA
Ms Victoria Lacey BEWA - Business Educators of Western Australia
Ms Bonnie Woo CLTAWA - Chinese Language Teachers Association of Western Australia
Mr Matthew Schlueter DATTA - Design and Technology Teachers Association of WA
Dr Sandra Hesterman ECA WA - Early Childhood Australia WA Branch
Mrs Mandy Hudson ETAWA - Economic Teachers Association of WA
Ms Trish Harris GAWA - Geographical Association of Western Australia
Ms Lyn Dymond HEIAWA - Home Economics Institute of Australia WA Branch
Ms Jordana Caple HTAWA - History Teachers Association of Western Australia
Ms Natalie Blewitt L3CTA - Level 3 Classroom Teachers Association
Mr Mike Filer PLEAWA - Political and Legal Educators Association of Western Australia
Ms Mady Colquhoun STAWA - Science Teachers' Association of Western Australia
Ms Sionna Macauley WAATA - West Australian Association of Teacher Assistants
Ms Maria LoPresti WAATI - Western Australian Association of Teachers of Italian
Dr Catherine Kapiteyn WAESPAA - Western Australian Education Support Principals & Administrators Association
Ms Sonja Kuzich WAIER - Western Austraian Institute of Educational Research
Ms Irene Starr WAMGLTA - West Australian Modern Greek Language Teachers Association Inc

If you would like to learn more about PTCWA please visit the Professional Teaching Council of Western Australia website.


Skip to top of page