Top of page
Global Site Navigation

School of Nursing and Midwifery

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

History of Nursing at ECU

25th Anniversary: 1991 - 2016

The School of Nursing was originally established in 1985 on the Nedlands Campus of WACAE, moving to Churchlands in October 1988. With seven staff members including academic and support staff, the first intake of students enrolled in a Diploma of Nursing which ran over 3.5 years. They were housed at the Nedlands Campus of WACAE and most of their practicum was based at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital.

By 1986 another 13 new academic staff had been recruited. In 1991, the WACAE attained university status. The ECU Churchlands campus graduated around 300 nurses each year.

In December 2007 the School moved to its current home on the Joondalup Campus, which by then had evolved into the School of Nursing, Midwifery and Postgraduate Medicine.

Following the separation of postgraduate medicine and paramedicine in August 2011, the School of Nursing and Midwifery was established and is the largest (and we believe the best) undergraduate nursing program in Western Australia.

You can download the PDF which includes information on each Head of School along with a timeline of memories.

Skip to top of page