Top of page
Global Site Navigation

School of Science

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

2019 WA Cyber Security Awards

Wednesday, 16 October 2019


What a great way to engage with cyber security professionals and aspiring professionals during international Cyber Security Awareness month than to celebrate the WA cyber industry at the inaugural WA Cyber Security Awards.

Stay Cyber Safe were proud to host Kevin Mitcnick at the 2019 WA Cyber Security Awards, held at the Black Swan Room at Optus Stadium on Friday, 11 October 2019. Kevin provided expert advice and demonstrated vulnerabilities in security during sessions earlier in the day, as well as hosting the Cyber Security Awards.

The School of Science made a great presence at the event with our staff and student ambassadors present. Our very own Outreach and Engagement Co-Ordinator, Dr Michelle Ellis, was nominated as a finalist for the WA Cyber Professional of the year. Many of our students were finalists and they include:

Cyber Security Volunteer

  • Tanu Bains (L33 Master of Cyber Security)

Cyber Security Student Finalists

  • Dianne Regina Villanueva (L33 Master of Cyber Security)
  • Girish Jhurkut (L33 Master of Cyber Security)

Winners at the event included:

  1. Edith Cowan University – 2019 Western Australian Cyber Security Educator of the Year.
  2. Duné van Aswegen – 2019 Western Australian Cyber Security Rookie of the Year. Duné is our Post Graduate Cyber Security Student who studied the L50 Graduate Certificate of Cyber Security course.
  3. Adam Brickhill – 2019 Western Australian Cyber Security Student of the Year. Adam is our current Cyber Security Student who is studying the Y89 Bachelor of Science (Cyber Security) course.

Congratulations to all the winners.

Photographs sourced from: Silvana Macri, Founder Stay Cyber Safe, 2019.


Skip to top of page