Top of page
Global Site Navigation

School of Science

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

ACS hosts annual Dennis Moore Oration event

Monday, 21 October 2019


The Australian Computing Society (ACS) presented their annual Dennis Moore Oration dinner and awards, held at The University Club of Western Australia on Wednesday, 16 October 2019.

Students who were considered for the 1962 Prizes award in 2019, graduated in 2018. These finalists include some of our very own ECU students which include:

  • Dishain de Silva (Y89 Bachelor of Science (Cyber Security)). Dishain has previously won Bankwest/CBA prizes and recently worked with a client on vault mobile applications to discover vault properties as well as reverse engineering some programs.
  • Josh Lloyd (U65 Bachelor of Computer Science). Josh led a team in his final year of study that saw the prototype development of a children’s game for children who were at high risk developing meningococcal. He also works as an Apple ‘Genius’ and developed a weather app that is available on Andoid and iOS.
  • Jarryd Wimbridge (G90 Bachelor of Computer Science Honours). Jarryd graduated with first class honours, won a merit award at WAITTA, iAwards and APICTA and was also successful in winning the ACS Digital Disruptors award for Skills Transformation. His honours thesis saw him working closely with the Department of Defence to develop a machine learning approach to automating air combat manoeuvres through a coevolutionary algorithm.

Jarryd Wimbridge went on to win the ACS 1962 prize for Undergraduate and Honours Studies.

The 1962 Medal Finalists also included Dr Matthew Peacock who recently completed his PhD at ECU. His thesis titled “Anomaly Detection in BACnet/IP managed Building Automation Systems” consisted of research that evaluated the Hidden Markov Models.

For the full media release, please click here.


Skip to top of page