Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Professor inducted into Women’s Hall of Fame

Thursday, 08 March 2012


Professor Colleen Hayward was inducted into the 2012 WA Women’s Hall of Fame today.  

Professor Hayward is the Head of Kurongkurl Katitjin, ECU’s Centre for Indigenous Australian Education and Research and was recently appointed to the position of Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Equity and Indigenous).

Professor Hayward said she is both proud and humbled to be acknowledged alongside some of Australia’s most influential women.  

“Being recognised in this way really is an unexpected bonus and something really special. I feel honoured to be part of an esteemed group of women who do what they do because they want to, not because they have to,” she said.

Throughout her career, Professor Hayward has been a strong advocate for the rights of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and has built lasting partnerships and initiatives between Indigenous and non-Indigenous Western Australians.

She has significant experience in teaching, research and management in a variety of sectors, including community, education and government.

This includes having held senior management roles with the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission in three states.

Professor Hayward has received a number of awards including the 2006 Premier of WA’s prestigious Multicultural Ambassador’s Award for advancing human rights and anti-racism in the community.

She was named the National NAIDOC Aboriginal Person of the Year in 2008 and in 2009 she was inducted into the WA Department of Education’s Hall of Fame for Achievement in Aboriginal Education.

In 2010 and 2011 Professor Hayward was also a member of the Inaugural Board of the National Congress of Australia’s First Peoples.

She is leader within the community and is an inspirational to young women, both Indigenous and non-Indigenous.

Established in 2011, the Women’s Hall of Fame aims to recognise women within the community who have had a positive influence on those around them. 2011 inductees include Dr Fiona Wood, Shirley Strickland de la Hunty and the ECU’s namesake Edith Dircksey Cowan.


Skip to top of page