Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation
You are here:
ECU is currently converting this web content to a more mobile friendly format. If you find the content below is not formatting correctly during this transition please view on desktop browser.
Main Content

Honouring the best of ECU

Wednesday, 27 June 2012


Extraordinary individuals from all walks of life were honoured last week at the annual ECU Path of Honour ceremony.

Established in 2002, the Path of Honour aims to commemorate and celebrate the lives of those who have had a positive and lasting effect on the ECU community and the lives of their loved ones.

This year’s ceremony celebrated five new inductees, including former Pro-Chancellor and Honorary Doctorate recipient Dr Steve Abbott and former council member and Chair of the WAAPA board Justice Rene Le Miere.

The full list of 2012 inductees are:

  • Dr Steve Abbott;
  • Justice Rene Le Miere;
  • Former ECU Council Member Mr Neil Douglas, nominated for his eight-year tenure and commitment to the University council;
  • Honorary Senior Lecturer from the School of Management Ms Judy Denham, nominated for her role as an academic and industry leader; and
  • ECU Alumnus Ms Roberta Lumbus (dec), nominated for work in establishing the successful Best Beginnings program, her ongoing commitment to the community and her role as both a wife, mother and friend.

Following the formal part of the ceremony family and friends gathered outside ECU’s Chancellery building as tiles dedicated to the recipients were officially unveiled.

“The Path of Honour is an important way to recognise those, both past and present, who have made a difference here at ECU or in their own communities,” said ECU’s Director of the Office of Advancement Dr Anthony Medhurst.

“On behalf of everyone at ECU I congratulate our 2012 nominees and thank them for their positive contributions to ECU and the wider community.”


Skip to top of page