Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation

Help us improve our content by rating this page.

Page rating system

Please leave a comment about your rating so we can better understand how we might improve the page.

You are here: Main Content

A new place to reflect

Tuesday, 15 March 2016

Tags: Homepage; School of Communications and Arts; Kurongkurl Katitjin; Indigenous; Homepage featured

A new boardwalk over the lake at the Joondalup Campus is actually ECU’s newest cultural reflection space.

These reflection spaces support ECU’s Reconciliation Action Plan and provide a unique opportunity for all people to learn about various aspects of traditional Whadjuk Nyoongar knowledge.

This space, Natural Elements, celebrates nature and provides a place for quiet contemplation and reflection. It follows the construction of Welcome to Place (outside building 1 at Joondalup Campus) which opened in May 2014.

The Natural Elements reflection space incorporates the elements of earth (boya/stone), wood (boorn), wind (maam), water (keip) and fire (karla). Bi-lingual names have been thoughtfully woven into the area for visitors to discover.

Pro-Vice Chancellor (Equity and Indigenous) Professor Colleen Hayward AM said ECU is committed to providing a learning environment that values and encourages Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians to achieve their full potential.

“The reflection spaces are intended to reinforce the message of welcome to all members of the ECU community, especially Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people,” Professor Hayward said.

“They are also places where all people can pause and receive a positive message of affirmation,” she said.

The Natural Elements cultural reflection space on the northwest edge of the lake (opposite the Pines theatre) at Joondalup Campus was officially opened by ECU’s Cultural Ambassador and Elder-in-Residence Dr Noel Nannup and Vice-Chancellor Professor Steve Chapman on Monday, 14 March.

The opening followed the first meeting of the newly formed Vice-Chancellor’s Reconciliation Committee.


Skip to top of page