Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation

Help us improve our content by rating this page.

Page rating system

Please leave a comment about your rating so we can better understand how we might improve the page.

You are here: Main Content

Statement from Vice-Chancellors on Higher Education funding cuts

Tuesday, 06 June 2017


Australian universities, attended by more than 280,000 students, jointly condemn the decision of the Federal Government to cut its Commonwealth Grant Scheme funding by 5 per cent and to put a further 7.5 per cent at risk.

The $2.8 billion reduction in funding would hit hardest the universities that do the heaviest lifting in terms of social equity.

These are the universities that admit the greatest proportion of regional students, students who are the first in their family to go to university, Indigenous students and disadvantaged students.

These are also the universities that derive the greatest proportion of their revenue from the funding stream the Government proposes to cut.

The Government has pointed to university surpluses to suggest that universities have more money than they need, however such surpluses are not stockpiled in bank accounts.

They are necessary to fund investment in new laboratories, upgraded lecture theatres and essential campus facilities, such as technology.

By definition, an “efficiency” dividend demands that the more financially inefficient – or unprofitable – operations of an organisation be cut.

At a university, the sorts of operations that are often least profitable include small or regional campuses, foreign languages, student support and research.

As a result, these funding cuts raise the question of the Government’s vision for the future of the sector.

We call on the Government to scale back its inequitable funding cuts and to support the role that higher education plays in providing opportunity and making Australia a more egalitarian society.

Professor Steve Chapman
Edith Cowan University

Professor Barney Glover
Vice-Chancellor and President
Western Sydney University

Professor Deep Saini
Vice-Chancellor & President
University of Canberra

Professor Greg Craven
Vice-Chancellor and President
Australian Catholic University

Professor Linda Kristjanson
Swinburne University of Technology

Professor Peter Dawkins
Vice-Chancellor and President
Victoria University

Professor Andrew Vann
Charles Sturt University

Professor Annabelle Duncan
Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive Officer
University of New England

Professor Caroline McMillen
University of Newcastle


Skip to top of page