Top of page
Global Site Navigation


Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Vice-Chancellor’s Staff Awards 2013

Thursday, 27 June 2013

Tags: Homepage; Engagement

The exceptional achievements of ECU staff were recognised at the annual Vice-Chancellor’s Staff Awards this week.

The awards recognise outstanding staff across a range of categories from Engagement, Research and Service to Excellence in Teaching and Learning.

This year 20 individuals and teams were celebrated as leaders in their field.

“Often we are very quick to criticise but we’re not so quick to praise. This is where we stop, we measure up and we give well deserved awards to great colleagues,” Vice-Chancellor, Professor Kerry Cox said.

“The Vice-Chancellor’s Staff Awards are a testament to ECU’s commitment to the values of personal excellence, integrity, rational inquiry and respect.”

He noted nearly 100 staff had been nominated for this year’s awards.

The 2013 winners were:
Community Engagement: Mr David Cook; Dr Kayt Davies

Engagement in Learning and Teaching: Mr Kim McCarthy and Dr Andries Weidemann

Engagement in Research: Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet team

Service to Students: Ms Janet Simmons; Dr Lyndall Adams, Dr Jo McFarlane and Ms Sarah Kearn

Service to the University Community: Domestic Admissions Team from Student Services Centre; the Research Grants team from Office of Research and Innovation; Dr Susan Hill; and the Student Information Office from Faculty of Computing Health and Science.

Several academic staff were also presented with Vice-Chancellor’s Staff Awards recognising achievement in Teaching and Learning.

Those winners were:

Excellence in Teaching: Dr Julie Crews, Mr Dean Roepen, Associate Professor Andrew Guilfoyle and Dr Miccal Matthews

Vice-Chancellor’s Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning: Dr Mary Boyce; Ms Abigail Lewis

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Programs that Enhance Learning: Miss Diane Slade

A special presentation was also made to Ms Diane Slade from the School of Communications and Arts who was presented with the 2013 International Education Faculty Achievement Award from the International Association of University Presidents.

The award recognises the significant contributions that Diane has made to the development and delivery of curricula that prepare students to work and prosper in international environments.

For more information on the awards visit the Vice-Chancellor's Staff Awards webpage.


Skip to top of page