Top of page
Global Site Navigation

Office of Governance Services

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Honorary Awards

We acknowledge and honour outstanding or significant personal achievement, and outstanding or significant contributions to society or to the University through the awarding of Honorary Degrees and the titles of Fellow of the University and Fellow of WAAPA.

The Honorary Degree is our most prestigious honorary award, and the title of Fellow (of the University or of WAAPA) is a high-level University honour.

Honorary Awards Committee

The Honorary Awards Committee is a standing committee of Council. The Committee considers and recommends to Council on nominations for honorary awards and titles.

For further information on the Honorary Awards Committee please visit the Committee web page.

Membership of the Honorary Awards Committee



The Hon Dr Hendy Cowan AO

Chancellor Chair

Ms Kelly Hick


Professor Steve Chapman CBE


Associate Professor Mark McMahon

Chairperson of the Academic Board

Mr Brad McManus

One other member of Council

Professor Caroline Barratt-Pugh; and

Professor Ross Dowling OAM

Two members nominated by the Academic Board


ECU Guild President

Associate Professor Andrew Woodward

Representative from University Executive

Honorary Awards : Nominations

The University’s Honorary Awards Policy and its Procedures allow for nominations for ECU Honorary Awards to be called twice yearly.

An honorary award is one way the University is able to honour someone who has made outstanding contributions to a specific field or is generally recognised for distinguished public service locally, nationally or internationally. Recognition can also be awarded to distinguished scholars in a field of academic endeavour in which the University is involved or has a direct, strategic interest.

ECU Honorary Awards include:

  • Honorary Degree;
  • Emeritus Professor (can only be nominated by any member of the University Executive; or a professor of the University).
  • Fellow of the University;
  • Fellow of WAAPA (can only be nominated by the WAAPA Board and WAAPA staff members (excluding casual and honorary staff).

Past ECU Honorary Awardees include Mrs Janet Holmes a ̀ Court AC HonDArts ECowan, Justice Robert French, AC HonDLaws ECowan, Mr Kerry Stokes AO HonDCommc ECowan, Mr James Morrison AM HonDMus ECowan and Ms Patricia Anderson HonDMedSc ECowan.

All staff are invited to consider lodging a nomination for the conferral of an ECU honorary degree upon a distinguished member of the community. You are encouraged to think broadly and creatively when considering a nomination.

All nominations for an honorary award must be submitted on the Honorary Awards nomination.

In making nominations it is required that staff members do not discuss the matter with the nominee, as this may create an expectation which, in the final outcome, may not be fulfilled.

All nominations will initially be considered by the Honorary Awards Working Group with the Honorary Awards Committee chaired by the Chancellor undertaking the final examination of nominations prior to Council giving its approval.

For further information on the criteria and eligibility of nominees, please refer to the Honorary Awards Policy:

Honorary Awards Working Group

The purpose of the Honorary Awards Working Group is to consider, assess and recommend to the Honorary Awards Committee suitable candidates for an honorary award. The Honorary Awards Working Group is responsible under delegation from Council for assessing, deliberating and reporting on suitable candidates for the honorary awards of: a) Honorary Degree b) Fellow of the University c) Fellow of the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts and d) Emeritus Professor.

Membership of Honorary Awards Working Group



Professor Cobie Rudd

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Strategic Planning) Chair

Mr Scott Henderson

Vice-President (Corporate Services)

Professor Simon Ridings

Deputy Vice-Chancellor and President (International)

Professor Colleen Hayward AM

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Equity & Indigenous)

Ms Sonia Mackay-Coghill

Director, Office of Development and Alumni Relations

Mrs Jo Quinn

Director and General Counsel, Strategic and Governance Services


Mrs Aisling Vennitti
Adviser, University Governance

Strategic and Governance Services Centre
Telephone: (61 8) 6304 2443

Skip to top of page