Top of page
Global Site Navigation

Strategic and Governance Services

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Honorary Awards

We acknowledge and honour outstanding or significant personal achievement, and outstanding or significant contributions to society or to the University through the awarding of Honorary Degrees and the title of Fellow of the University.

The Honorary Degree is our most prestigious honorary award, and the title of Fellow of the University is a high-level University honour.

Honorary Awards Committee

The Honorary Awards Committee is a standing committee of Council. The Committee considers and recommends to Council on nominations for Honorary Degrees and Titles of Fellow of the University.

For further information on the Honorary Awards Committee please visit the Committee web page.

Membership of the Honorary Awards Committee




The Hon Kerry Sanderson AC

Chancellor and Chair

Ms Kelly Hick

Deputy Chancellor

Professor Steve Chapman CBE


Professor Mark McMahon

Chairperson of the Academic Board

Ms Natalie Dimmock

One other member of Council

Professor Caroline Barratt-Pugh; and

Professor Dawn Penney

Two members nominated by the Academic Board

Mr Abhishek Mehta

ECU Guild President

Professor Andrew Woodward

Representative from University Executive


Professor Cobie Rudd

Chair of the Honorary Awards Working Group and
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Strategic Partnerships)

Honorary Awards : Nominations

The University’s Honorary Awards Policy and  its Procedures allow for nominations for ECU Honorary Awards to be called twice yearly.

An honorary award is one way the University is able to honour someone who has made outstanding contributions to a specific field or is generally recognised for distinguished public service locally, nationally or internationally. Recognition can also be awarded to distinguished scholars in a field of  academic endeavour in which the University is involved or has a direct, strategic interest.

ECU Honorary Awards include:

  • Honorary Degree;
  • Emeritus Professor (can only be nominated by a member of the University Executive; or a professor of the University); and
  • Fellow of the University

Past ECU Honorary Awardees include Ms Patricia Anderson HonDMedSc ECowan, Mr Ben Elton HonDArts ECowan, Professor Lyn Beazley, AO, HonDSc ECowan, Ms June Oscar, AO, HonDUniv ECowan and Mr Nigel Satterley, AM, HonDBus ECowan.

All staff are invited to consider lodging a nomination for the conferral of an ECU honorary degree upon a distinguished member of the community. You are encouraged to think broadly and creatively when considering a nomination.

All nominations for an honorary award must be submitted on the Honorary Awards nomination.

In making nominations it is required that staff members do not discuss the matter with the nominee, as this may create an expectation which, in the final outcome, may not be fulfilled.

All nominations will initially be considered by the Honorary Awards Working Group with the Honorary Awards Committee chaired by the Chancellor undertaking the final examination of nominations prior to Council giving its approval.

For further information on the criteria and eligibility of nominees, please refer to the Honorary Awards Policy:

Honorary Awards Working Group

The purpose of the Honorary Awards Working Group is to consider, assess and recommend to the Honorary Awards Committee suitable candidates for an honorary award. The Honorary Awards Working Group is responsible under delegation from Council for assessing, deliberating and reporting on suitable candidates  for the honorary awards of: a) Honorary Degree and b) Fellow of the University

Membership of Honorary Awards Working Group



Professor Cobie Rudd

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Strategic Partnerships)and Chair

Mr Scott Henderson

Vice-President (Corporate Services)

Professor Simon Ridings

Deputy Vice-Chancellor and President (International)

Mr Braden Hill

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Equity & Indigenous)

Ms Sonia Mackay-Coghill

Executive Director (Enterprise and Development)

Ms Jo Quinn

Director and General Counsel, Strategic and Governance Services

Professor Maryam Omari

Mr David Shirley

Executive Deans (x2)


Mrs Aisling Vennitti
University Governance Adviser

Strategic and Governance Services
Telephone: (61 8) 6304 2443

Skip to top of page