Top of page
Global Site Navigation

Kurongkurl Katitjin

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content


Kurongkurl Katitjin, Edith Cowan University’s Centre for Indigenous Australian Education and Research, plays a vital role in assisting the University to meet its commitment to Indigenous peoples.

We support University-wide activities and programs, as well as activities specific to Indigenous Australian people and their cultures. This includes:

  • engaging closely with Indigenous people and communities;
  • assisting Indigenous students and staff to realise their full potential;
  • ensuring that individual differences and diversity are respected; and
  • contributing to Indigenous community development and sustainability through our students, staff and graduates.

ECU’s Indigenous programs date back to 1975, when the Aboriginal Teacher Education Program was first established at the Mount Lawley Campus.

The building and its gardens

Completed in 2005, Kurongkurl Katitjin’s building was designed in consultation with Nyoongar elders to graphically represent Aboriginal culture and the Australian landscape.

The purpose-built premises is an iconic and colourful, three-storey, state-of-the-art building. Its colours represent the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander flags, as well as the Australian landscape. Nyoongar words about place and family are etched into the outer facades of the building.

A constellation of the Southern Cross on the roof of the building signifies the link between Indigenous Australians and travelling the land.

Entry into the building is accessible from several directions and the landscaping is visible from within, highlighting the Aboriginal connection with the land.

Five mosaic artworks were commissioned as an integral part of the building and landscape design, which represent the north, south, east and west regions of the state. Located at a different point of the compass, four of the five mosaic tiles are linked by story paths to the fifth mosaic, located at the centre of the building called “Our Place”.

Surrounding the building, the gardens have been designed to represent the six Nyoongar seasons: 

  • Bunuru (February and March);
  • Djeran (April and May);
  • Makuru (June and July)
  • Djilba (August and September);
  • Kambarang (October and November); and
  • Birak (December/January).
Skip to top of page