Top of page
Global Site Navigation

Kurongkurl Katitjin

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Noongar Six Seasons

Aboriginal seasons guided by the land

Unlike the European calendar, there are six Noongar seasons in Western Australia’s South West region, which are indicated by changes in local plants and animals. Learn how to pick the change of seasons with this handy guide.

Traditionally Noongar people hunted and gathered food according to the seasons, being guided by the signs in nature as to which animal and plant resources were plentiful at those times.

Find explanations of the traditions and environmental indicators in the South West region of Western Australia for each of the Noongar seasons below.

Skip to top of page