Top of page
Global Site Navigation

School of Medical and Health Sciences

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Non-pharmaceutical treatment applications and novel clinical tests for people living with Huntington’s disease

The research

The ECU Huntington’s Disease Research Team focuses on the development of novel non-pharmaceutical treatment strategies aimed at delaying the onset and slowing the progression of Huntington’s disease (HD). The team also develops clinical tests for monitoring the clinical and biological course of the disease. The team’s current projects include:

  • The effect of multidisciplinary therapy on neural and clinical deterioration in HD
  • The diagnostic and prognostic utility of a novel brain imaging method for HD
  • The biological underpinnings of sleep-wake disturbances in HD
  • The neural and biological underpinnings of social cognitive problems in HD
  • The development of novel assessments for the sensitive characterisation of functional impairments in HD


  • Lotterywest
  • Huntington's WA


  • Professor Mel Ziman (Edith Cowan University)
  • Dr Travis Cruickshank (Edith Cowan University)
  • Danielle Bartlett (PhD Candidate, Edith Cowan University)
  • Professor Robert Newton (Edith Cowan University)
  • Professor Roger Barker (University of Cambridge)
  • Dr Alpar Lazar (University of Cambridge, University of East Anglia)
  • Professor Peter Eastwood (University of Western Australia)
  • Professor Nellie Georgiou-Karistianis (Monash University)
  • Dr Kath Maddison (University of Western Australia)
  • Dr Clare Eddy (University of Birmingham)
  • Professor Anthony Hannan (Florey Institute, University of Melbourne)
  • Dr Juan Dominguez (Monash University)
  • Dr Amit Lampit (University of Sydney)
  • Dr Kirk Feindel (Harry Perkins Insitute, University of Western Australia)
  • Dr Weipeng Teo (Deakin University)
  • Professor Brian Power (University of Notre Dame)
  • Dr Andrew Govus (Edith Cowan University)

Associate Investigators (Research Assistants)

  • Timothy Pulverenti (PhD Candidate, Edith Cowan University)
  • Catarina Kordsachia (PhD Candidate, Monash University)
  • Benjamin Kan (PhD Candidate, Edith Cowan University)
  • Pauline Zaenker (PhD Candidate, Edith Cowan University)
  • Dale Harris (PhD Candidate, Deakin University)
  • James Slater (PhD Candidate, University of Western Australia)
  • Timothy Rankin (MSc Candidate, Edith Cowan University)
  • Linda Hoult (BSc, Edith Cowan University)
Skip to top of page