Top of page
Global Site Navigation

About ECU

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Athena SWAN

Athena SWAN

Core to Edith Cowan University’s namesake (Edith Dircksey Cowan) and the University’s values, is the pursuit of redressing inequalities and improving education and opportunities for women. ECU is the only university named after a woman in Australia, a woman whose lifetime achievements included a strong focus on gender equality.

The University is proud to be one of fifteen Australian institutions to have received an inaugural Athena SWAN Bronze Award at Parliament House in Canberra on 5 December 2018 hosted by the Science in Australia Gender Equity (SAGE) Initiative.


The accreditation framework is based on ten key principles which commit to creating gender inclusive workplaces. Originating in the UK, there are currently 45 participants in Australia including universities, medical research institutes and publicly-funded research organisations.

The Bronze Institution Award recognises institutions who understand the current state of gender equity in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) disciplines and have developed a four-year action plan which targets structural and cultural barriers, driving diversity in higher education and research.

ECU Athena SWAN Charter Committee

The ECU Athena SWAN Charter Committee (ECUASCC) was established in 2015. It is an overarching gender-balanced committee with key institutional leaders who provide high level strategic leadership of Athena SWAN.

Skip to top of page